Phrases that sound like Euphemisms

Webster defines the word euphemism as follows: The act or an example of substituting a mild, indirect, or vague term for one considered harsh, blunt, or offensive.  The following phrases were not meant to be euphemisms – but they certainly seem that way!

  • Do you mind if I put my bike in your trunk?
  • Where would you like me to put these bags?
  • I’m waiting for her to batter-dip the corn dog.
  • I’m going to clean out the honey pot.
  • He was banging at the back door.
  • I was rearranging my basement.
  • I love me some pulled pork!
  • These curly fries are salty.
  • Put that meat in the freezer.
  • He spilled his juice all over her carpet.
  • I can’t wait to rest my head on those cushions.
  • Only members are allowed.
  • I can’t wait to see what’s in the box!
  • Slow down – you’re going to break your joystick.

For more fun with euphemisms – check this out: Euphemania: Our Love Affair with Euphemisms

About themacmind

Trying to stay creative in an often boring world (one post at a time)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

